Phoenix DUI Defense Lawyer
The Steps of a DUI Arrest
When a person is pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, a police officer must first have probable cause to give a field sobriety test or a
breath test at the scene. One these grounds are established, they will then administer some form of test to determine initially if they believe that the driver is driving illegally under the influence of a substance. If their suspicions are confirmed, the driver will then be put into custody and taken back to the police station where they will likely ask the defendant to submit a chemical test. The chemical tests, while more accurate than field sobriety tests and other tests in the field, can still be refuted with help from a
Phoenix DUI defense attorney.
Once a person is arrested for this offense, their driver's license will be replaced with a temporary permit that will expire at the end of the waiting period. During this period, the defendant must secure legal representation and speak to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division to seek an administrative hearing. At this hearing, their attorney will dispute the charges and fight to save this person's driving privileges.
Penalties of a First DUI Conviction
If a person is found guilty of DUI for the first offense, they are usually subject to harsh penalties. There are three different types of DUI charges in the state of Arizona: regular DUI,
Extreme DUI, and
Super Extreme DUI. Each of these have consequences that vary according to the charge. For a regular DUI conviction, a person can expect to face fines adding up to over $1,000 and a short-term jail sentence. For an Extreme DUI, on the other hand, a person can expect to face fines ranging above $2,000, suspended license for up to a year and a mandatory ignition interlock device.
Despite the charges you have been accused of, you should always secure the resources of an attorney; contact a Phoenix DUI lawyer at the firm today.